My Liebster Retirement

Sunset

“filmscorehunter” at the blog The Cinematic Frontier has nominated me for a Liebster Award. And while I am flattered as always, I think it’s time for me to quit participating in this ritual. I’ve done five of these already, and I suspect that my readers are getting as tired of reading my answers as I am of trying to come up with them.

Therefore, I’m going to post the usual Liebster rules, as well as the questions given to me by “filmscorehunter”. But I’m going to be all defiant and follow only the first rule. When you are nominated for a Liebster, you are asked to

  • Answer his or her nominator’s 11 questions.
  • Nominate 11 additional bloggers.
  • Ask 11 questions of your nominees.
  • Share 11 additional facts about yourself.

Also, “filmscorehunter” is probably not going to like that I am going to reply to two of his questions with a single answer, but here are those questions:

  1. What is your favorite new release of 2016 so far?
  2. Which film recently made you reflect on it long after the credits were over?

These are good and valid questions. The trouble is that I can’t answer them because I haven’t been to any recent movies. The last new movie I saw in a theater was Simon Pegg’s The World’s End in 2013. Curmudgeon that I am, I’ve completely turned off from the moviegoing experience in recent years. I far more enjoy watching them on my computer in the sanctuary of my man-cave, or Twittering about them on Live Tweets.

3. Which Comic Con have you most recently attended (or, if you’ve never been to one, which one do you plan or wish to attend?

Sorry, the closest I’ve ever gotten to a Comic Con was watching the 2011 movie Paul. (Another Simon Pegg reference.)

4. Do you prefer 3D or 2D?

2D, most definitely, I’ve yet to see a movie where the 3D effect ever enhanced the experience for me.

5. What is your favorite film from the year you were born?

101 Dalmatians (1961).

6. Blu-Ray or streaming?

To further demonstrate how un-hip I am, I’ve never seen a movie in Blu-Ray in my life, so I guess it’s streaming for me. (“filmscorehunter”, I’ll bet you’re glad you nominated me now, aren’t you?)

7. Name your favorite ’80s song in a film.

“On Your Shore” (1988) by Enya, as it was used in Steve Martin’s 1991 comic gem L.A. Story. I’d never even heard of Enya until I saw this movie, but it’s a beautiful song, and the movie used it perfectly.

8. Star Trek or Star Wars?

Hard to say. I enjoy elements of both, I’m not feverish about either one, and I’d say that each one had only one movie that was a real five-star gem (respectively, The Wrath of Khan and The Empire Strikes Back). If I had to choose in a pinch, I guess it would be Star Trek, as that’s the one I grew up with and it’s a little more thoughtful.

9. What is your favorite film based on a book?

Director/co-star Barbra Streisand’s rendition of Pat Conroy’s The Prince of Tides. Most books that are really good end up with terrible movie versions, or vice versa. The Prince of Tides seemed to condense all of the best stuff from the book without losing its essence.

10. What is your favorite (or least favorite) Nicolas Cage haircut?

I’ve seen Nicolas Cage in quite a few movies, but I have to say that whenever I think of him, that wack-job look from Raising Arizona always comes to mind.

p.jpg

11. Who is your favorite composer?

If we’re talking movies, Bernard Herrmann. For the rest of civilization, John Lennon & Paul McCartney.

*

I hope “filmscorehunter” and everyone else will forgive for cheating on the Liebster rules, but I think everyone’s had enough of my Liebsterness for the rest of my life.

 

 

 

 

 

5 responses to “My Liebster Retirement

  1. I always post my answers to the questions asked because I think they’re fun! Even if just in the comments below the nomination. But I only posed questions and my own nominations the first time.
    I agree with 10 for sure! Also comicons are super fun 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve done three of these, myself, and yes it’s getting tiresome. Not sure I’m quite at retiring yet. Maybe one or two more times. We’ll see.

    You’ve never seen a movie on Blu-Ray? Wow. Then again, I’ve only started watching them earlier this year, so I shouldn’t be too surprised.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

