Requesting donations for a hairy situation

As a rule, I use this blog strictly to promote my movie-related writing, and not for personal gain. Just this once (I promise), I ask for your indulgence for my breaking this rule.

My co-workers and I are dressing up as fairy-tale characters for Halloween. In honor of one of my favorite Popeye cartoons, I am dressing up as Sindbad the Sailor. For the sake of verisimilitude, a few weeks ago, I started growing a beard to look more like Sindbad.

Yeah, I know..."My eyes, my eyes!"

Yeah, I know…”My eyes, my eyes!”

I am not one of those guys who looks more distinguished by sporting a beard, and I’m not fond of the sensation of wearing a Brillo pad on my chin. So I was planning to chop it off as soon as Halloween was done.

Then my son told me about No-Shave November and how many of his friends will grow huge beards next month in order to benefit the American Cancer Society. So I figured, as long as I’m already toting this dead weight around, I might as well stick it out another month to benefit a charity.

There’s also a personal connection. The “event” asks if you would like to dedicate your tonsorial growth to a particular person. In my case, I am dedicating my contribution to my mother, Gertrude, who died of ovarian cancer when I was four years old. I don’t mention this very often because it sounds as though I’m plucking at people’s heartstrings (which of course I am), but in this case, I’d say it’s worth it.

R.I.P., Mom.

R.I.P., Mom.

Anyway, if you would like to donate, simply go to:

http://bit.ly/1xCp4wG

This will take you to a page where the American Cancer Society gives you instructions for donating online. They ask for a minimum donation of $5. The page also allows you to quickly find out whether your place of employment offers a matching donation, in which case you can use that to contribute even more.

I hope you will donate to this truly worthy cause…because I ain’t wearing this faux steel wool on my face for nothing.

#LetItGrow

Leave a Reply

